We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring
Search

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Latin Tutors & Teachers for Lessons, Instruction or Help in San Jose, CA

Latin Tutoring

Latin is taught as a mandatory subject in gymnasium and other so-called classical high schools, located chiefly in Europe. In the United States, although once offered nearly universally, Latin is limited to elective status in a steadily declining number of grade schools, both public and private. Select a tutor today. Latin is an Italic language originally spoken in Latium and Ancient Rome. It, along with most European languages, is a descendant of the Ancient Proto-Indo-European language. Although it is often considered a dead language, a number of scholars and members of the Christian clergy speak it fluently, and both University of Kentucky and Iowa State (among others) teach it. Need help? Select a tutor now. Latin music - salsa, reggae, nueva cancion or tejano - need help? Latin Language exam coming up but lost? Select a tutor today.

Tutoring near San Jose, CA

Known as the Capital of Silicon Valley, San Jose is the third largest city in California. Select a tutor Now. If you are looking for quality tutors in San Jose or the surrounding areas of Campbell, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, Saratoga, Cupertino, Los Altos, or Fremont - we have the best selection to choose from. San Jose tutors are some of the best in the country. Take a look at our selection and get the help you need today.

Search for

FREE!

Tutor Spotlight !

john M. - Sunnyvale, CA 94085 (6.1 mi) - $35/hr.

john M. - Sunnyvale, CA 94085 (6.1 mi) - $35/hr.

This is one of my top subjects! Latin is one of my top subjects!Can teach introduction and intermediate Latin: translation, vocabulary, and grammar. I have taught extensively from Wheelock's Latin and used this text as a student, as well as, used it to teach middle school, high school, and college students.

I have taught elementary, middle school , high school, college, and students in adult education courses. I have taught in rural, suburban, and urban settings for both private and public institutions. I have tutored my own children (e.g. Latin, Art, Guitar) and middle and high school students in their homes and/or at my home. I have taught hundreds of college courses and thousands of students. I have a passion for teaching, knowledge, learning from others, and life-learning. My teaching style is real. It's genuine. College students walk away from my classes saying, "Thanks for keeping it real." I have no pretenses as I view the learning process as a crucial humans exchange between two or more people. I'm very egalitarian in my approach, being open to learn from my students. Finally, I have caring pedagogy, in that I care about my students and usually am in touch with them well af ... read more

john M. - Sunnyvale, CA 94085 (6.1 mi) - $35/hr.

$35.00

average per hour

($30.00-$40.00)

Range

Find San Jose, CA Latin Tutors

Karl G - San Jose, CA 95136 (5.2 mi) - Latin Tutor - $48.00/hr. Karl G - San Jose, CA 95136 (5.2 mi) - Latin Tutor - $48.00/hr.

My teaching style can be described as an open and honest outward expression of my own personality mixed with careful consideration of the particular needs of my students. This means that I’ll almost certainly never be one to conform to mundane and pre-scripted presentation of facts and analyses. How I teach will always involve a unique blend of my own personality and current experience, those of my students, and the material being covered. I believe that a collaborative and friendly environment makes learning fun and that fun learning equals successful learning. As a graduate student at the University of Illinois, I was responsible for a total of 58 credit hours of undergraduate instruction in Latin, Greek and Roman Myth, and ancient Greek culture. I was also the Latin instructor at Countryside elementary school in Champaign, IL during the ‘07/’08 school year responsible for curriculum d

Also Tutors:
Karl G - San Jose, CA 95136 (5.2 mi) - Latin Tutor - $48.00/hr.

$ 48.00

average per hour

($50.00-$60.00)

Range

Timothy J - Mountain View, CA 94040 (9.1 mi) - Latin Tutor - $46.00/hr. Timothy J - Mountain View, CA 94040 (9.1 mi) - Latin Tutor - $46.00/hr.

Easy going, supportive, hard working, direct, open, and encouraging. My style is to find real world experiences to provide examples for learning. This approach stimulates students to actually enjoy chemistry instead of thinking of it as something difficult or uninteresting. I've also found that the carrot approach works much better than the stick. Everyone can make the grade or higher by being encouraged and helped. Teaching 5-10 years of college level organic chemistry, physical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and intro chemistry. Also, I've served as a full time lab assistant. I've had extensive experience in both designing exams, lecturing, tutoring, and providing special assistance to students. As an attorney, I have always been driven to achieve high levels of excellence in my field. Over the last 20 years I have practiced as a patent attorney in the

Also Tutors:
Timothy J - Mountain View, CA 94040 (9.1 mi) - Latin Tutor - $46.00/hr.

$ 46.00

average per hour

($47.00-$59.00)

Range

Timothy P - Oakland, CA 94611 (33 mi) - Latin Tutor - $47.50/hr. Timothy P - Oakland, CA 94611 (33 mi) - Latin Tutor - $47.50/hr.

I approach instruction from the view that “teach[ing] a man to fish, will feed him for a lifetime”. I am committed to building on what my students bring with them, using this as a fulcrum on which to hinge their learning. This approach succeeds in helping students understand that they are capable of and even responsible for teaching themselves?–?a skill I see as a necessity in life, especially once a student can no longer expect formal instruction. In addition to my own experiences with learning several languages, I have benefited from coursework in Behavioral Psychology, which has taught me to create positive classroom atmosphere. My students note my enthusiasm for language and express appreciation for my linguistic explanations. I have spent 6 years teaching university-level German language courses and reading comprehension & writing courses. Before this, I spent 2 years as a volunteer

Also Tutors: German, English ESOL
Timothy P - Oakland, CA 94611 (33 mi) - Latin Tutor - $47.50/hr.

$ 47.50

average per hour

($48.00-$61.00)

Range

Alrick H - Ripon, CA 95366 (44.1 mi) - Latin Tutor - $42.50/hr. Alrick H - Ripon, CA 95366 (44.1 mi) - Latin Tutor - $42.50/hr.

I have worked with children and young people all my adult life from teaching VBS as a teenager to presently being a tutor and substitute teacher. In addition to my majors, I have minors in Greek and Western Culture. I wrote a substantial Master's Thesis. For the past 12 years I have also worked as a pastor. Part of my work in this capacity involves writing and presenting two sermons every week which is equivalent to researching, writing and presenting two ten page papers every week. In addition, I presently teach Greek and Latin, tutor students in math (pre-algebra and algebra), Latin, natural science, and writing. My approach to teaching begins with having a high expectation for what my students can accomplish. Therefore, my goal is, in part, to help my students love learning and to translate the love for learning into higher achievements. I try to inspire the students In terms

Also Tutors: Hebrew, French, English ESOL
Alrick H - Ripon, CA 95366 (44.1 mi) - Latin Tutor - $42.50/hr.

$ 42.50

average per hour

($44.00-$55.00)

Range