We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Alan M.


Learn German "blitzschnell"

Houston, TX 77007


Member since:08/2018

I am a Certified Teacher

Rates from $34 to $39

I can perfom tutoring:

  • On-line
  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 20 miles

Additional Policies:

I've taught German for the last four years, speak with native fluency, and have tutored everyone from mayors to bikers and quite a few in between. My wife's job just got transferred to Houston, and I don't have teaching job yet so I've got time to fit into someone's schedule at their convenience.

Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.


In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name


Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

In addition to the last four years of teaching high school German, while doing research in Germany and Austria for my PhD dissertation, I worked as a tutor for the Berlitz language company and as a translator of business documents from German into English. In this capacity, I tutored both individual students at their homes or businesses and small groups of students in the language center classrooms. I easily fit a tutoring curricula to each individual student's particular areas of interest.

Teaching Style

Communication is the paramount goal, so even though grammar is a bit of specialty of mine (Latin, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, etc.) I prioritize coaching the ability to exchange information and ideas clearly over any major focus on the finer points of German grammar...of which there are many. I generally find that tutoring students do best when I give them a small an digestible dose of grammar at the start of a session and practice homework on this at the end of the session but keep 90% of time dedicated to practicing oral communication and listening skills.

My Hobbies

-classical guitar -swimming, snorkeling, and SCUBA diving -biking -free climbing

Other Comments

Having lived and worked four years in Germany and Austria, most native speakers do not recognize that I am American, because my pronunciation is on par with educated native speakers. One guarantee I can make is that your pronunciation will improve by leaps and bounds if I work with you individually.


Type Level Year Title Issued By
Degree Doctorate 2000 German history UC Santa Barbara
Certification permanent 2014 German language Pennsylvania Department of Educa...
Certification provisional 2018 German language Texas Education Agency
Award scholarship 1998 dissertation research fellow Duke August Library

Subject Commentary

German This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I speak with native fluency and a near perfect accent.

All Subjects I Tutor

  • German