We provide free access to qualified tutors across the U.S.
Find the perfect tutor now!

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring
Search

ie: Algebra, Writing, Guitar...

ie: 33635 or Tampa, FL

Melinda D.

Back

San Diego, CA 92104

Female ( Age 37 )

Member since:02/2012

Rates from $35 to $45

I can perfom tutoring:

  • In-home
  • Group

Will travel up to 20 miles

Additional Policies:

Cancellation without notice fee of $15. Materials not included in rate.

Contact This Tutor

Provide details about your tutoring needs.

Subject

In-Person Tutoring Online Tutoring

Your Zip Code:

First Name

Last Name

Email

Confirm Email

Notify me of available tutors

I have read and agree to the Terms of Use

About Me

Experience Summary

I completed a Masters in Chemistry in 2009, and since then I have worked as an organic chemist in an academic setting. During graduate school, I taught college level chemistry and organic chemistry in a laboratory setting. I prepared lectures and handouts, held study groups in small and large group settings, and worked with students one on one. After graduate school, I continued to tutor chemistry, organic chemistry, and algebra to students at other Universities in one on one settings.

Teaching Style

I find that the best way to tutor is to use a combination of different methods. For example, I think that pictures/ball and stick structures, reading materials, and having a discussion about the question at hand are all useful and important ways to completely understand Chemistry. I am an extremely patient person, and I believe it is imperative to understand one topic before moving to the next. I like to prepare extra handouts and materials for my students, because I find that presenting material in as many ways as possible is the best way fully grasp the concept.

My Hobbies

I coach figure skating to kids children age 5 to 17.

Credentials

Type Level Year Title Issued By

Subject Commentary

Chemistry This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I have a Masters in Chemistry and taught general chemistry at the college level for two years.
Organic Chemistry This is one of my top subjects! Proficiency: Expert
I have a masters in chemistry with a specialization in organic chemistry. I taught college level organic chemistry for two years, and currently work as an organic chemist in academia.

All Subjects I Tutor

  • Algebra I
  • Algebra II
  • Chemistry
  • College Algebra
  • Organic Chemistry
  • Pre-Algebra